Communiqué http://electronicdesign.com/blog/2864/feed Blogs on topics such as wired and wireless networking. en Cellular Could Dominate IoT Applications http://electronicdesign.com/blog/cellular-could-dominate-iot-applications <div class="node-body blog-body">Cellular systems are poised to play a bigger role in the IoT movement than expected.</div> <p><a href="http://electronicdesign.com/blog/cellular-could-dominate-iot-applications" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://electronicdesign.com/blog/cellular-could-dominate-iot-applications#comments IoT Communications Communiqué Wed, 18 Jan 2017 20:51:00 +0000 910291 at http://electronicdesign.com 5 Things You Must Know About the New Bluetooth 5 http://electronicdesign.com/blog/5-things-you-must-know-about-new-bluetooth-5 <div class="node-body blog-body">Longer range, faster speed, and larger broadcast message capacity come with Bluetooth 5, which makes it an even stronger wireless competitor in the IoT space.</div> <p><a href="http://electronicdesign.com/blog/5-things-you-must-know-about-new-bluetooth-5" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://electronicdesign.com/blog/5-things-you-must-know-about-new-bluetooth-5#comments Blogs IoT Lighting Mobile Communications Wireless Communiqué Wed, 04 Jan 2017 20:27:00 +0000 907831 at http://electronicdesign.com Retro ICs that Will Never Die http://electronicdesign.com/blog/retro-ics-will-never-die <div class="node-body blog-body">From the 555 timer to the LM317 regulator, many old-time components still can be had from suppliers to help engineers, hobbyists, or even college students complete their projects.</div> <p><a href="http://electronicdesign.com/blog/retro-ics-will-never-die" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://electronicdesign.com/blog/retro-ics-will-never-die#comments Components op-amps Passives Communiqué Tue, 06 Dec 2016 19:09:00 +0000 902231 at http://electronicdesign.com Getting Acquainted with NB-IoT http://electronicdesign.com/blog/getting-acquainted-nb-iot <div class="node-body blog-body">It’s understandable that you may have missed mention of yet another wireless technology for enabling IoT applications. </div> <p><a href="http://electronicdesign.com/blog/getting-acquainted-nb-iot" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://electronicdesign.com/blog/getting-acquainted-nb-iot#comments IoT Mobile Communications Communiqué Mon, 14 Nov 2016 20:43:00 +0000 897701 at http://electronicdesign.com Wi-Fi Alliance Resuscitates the IEEE’s 60-GHz Neglected Stepchild http://electronicdesign.com/blog/wi-fi-alliance-resuscitates-ieee-s-60-ghz-neglected-stepchild <div class="node-body blog-body">Are you using the 60-GHz IEEE standard 802.11ad? Is anyone? </div> <p><a href="http://electronicdesign.com/blog/wi-fi-alliance-resuscitates-ieee-s-60-ghz-neglected-stepchild" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://electronicdesign.com/blog/wi-fi-alliance-resuscitates-ieee-s-60-ghz-neglected-stepchild#comments WiFi Communiqué Fri, 28 Oct 2016 16:16:00 +0000 894631 at http://electronicdesign.com Scanning the Spectrum of "Weird Wireless" http://electronicdesign.com/blog/scanning-spectrum-weird-wireless <div class="node-body blog-body">We all use the familiar mainstream wireless technologies like Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. However, there are many other unusual and less-well-known wireless types.</div> <p><a href="http://electronicdesign.com/blog/scanning-spectrum-weird-wireless" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://electronicdesign.com/blog/scanning-spectrum-weird-wireless#comments Wireless Communiqué Tue, 27 Sep 2016 15:47:00 +0000 887301 at http://electronicdesign.com What You Should Know About the New Apple iPhone 7 and Watch http://electronicdesign.com/blog/what-you-should-know-about-new-apple-iphone-7-and-watch <div class="node-body blog-body"> On Wednesday September 7th , Apple announced the forthcoming availability of two new models, the iPhone 7 and 7 Plus.</div> <p><a href="http://electronicdesign.com/blog/what-you-should-know-about-new-apple-iphone-7-and-watch" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://electronicdesign.com/blog/what-you-should-know-about-new-apple-iphone-7-and-watch#comments Communiqué Mon, 12 Sep 2016 16:30:00 +0000 884341 at http://electronicdesign.com Forget this Self-Driving Car Nonsense http://electronicdesign.com/blog/forget-self-driving-car-nonsense <div class="node-body blog-body">Autonomous cars may be on the way, but Lou Frenzel is having none of it.</div> <p><a href="http://electronicdesign.com/blog/forget-self-driving-car-nonsense" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://electronicdesign.com/blog/forget-self-driving-car-nonsense#comments Automotive IoT Electromechanical Communiqué Mon, 22 Aug 2016 19:25:00 +0000 880181 at http://electronicdesign.com NIWeek: The Best Electronic Conference http://electronicdesign.com/blog/niweek-best-electronic-conference <div class="node-body blog-body">Lou Frenzel has been to many conferences over the years, but for him, NIWeek is in its own category. </div> <p><a href="http://electronicdesign.com/blog/niweek-best-electronic-conference" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://electronicdesign.com/blog/niweek-best-electronic-conference#comments Communiqué Tue, 09 Aug 2016 16:05:00 +0000 878991 at http://electronicdesign.com And the Best Micro for Beginner Learning is… http://electronicdesign.com/blog/and-best-micro-beginner-learning <div class="node-body blog-body">While the responses to Lou Frenzel's blog on choosing the best microcontroller were broad, a consensus of sorts did emerge.</div> <p><a href="http://electronicdesign.com/blog/and-best-micro-beginner-learning" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://electronicdesign.com/blog/and-best-micro-beginner-learning#comments Microcontrollers Communiqué Mon, 01 Aug 2016 20:53:00 +0000 878771 at http://electronicdesign.com